Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 17th, 2012

Not Ready

Above(if it uploaded) is a picture of a young woman by the name of Whitney Erin Miller. At one point I saw this girl every single day and spent countless hours by her side. Some of those hours were spent preparing to cheer at football games, some were spent sprinting our rears off preparing to run in track meets. I have not spoken to her in at least two years and I found out today that she passed away. Whitney was 18 years old and came down with the flu, which then turned into Pneumonia, this led to internal bleeding which was the factor that ended her life. My heart breaks for her family, who I have known for almost 8 years now.

As I pray and contemplate about this I realize that I am not quite ready for this part of my life. I know that you can never be fully prepared for any kind of death, no matter what age. To think that I am 21 and in the past 3 months I have lost 3 friends. Two of which were a large part of my life during high school.Is beyond my comprehension. God must be having a huge party in heaven right now! I have not suffered from a lose in my own family (Thank you Jesus), but I can only imagine the hurt that goes along with it. My heart breaks for the families that have to go through such a trial.

All in all I believe God is showing me that life is such a short thing. He says that a thousand years is just like the blink of an eye, and although I still do not fully understand that, I am seeing that time flies by and you have no way of stopping it. So, the question is, what have I done for God? I feel as if I haven’t done nearly enough. So from now on the question I will ask myself every morning is “What can I do for God today?” my life is not my own. What can I do so that if I die tomorrow I can walk up to God and He will say to me, “Well done good and faithful servant.”

If I can do but one thing to bring attention to God, that is all I will do. To allow Him to work through me is my cry. What can I possibly do that compares to what He has done for me? His love is astounding. His pursuit of me is relentless. His forgiveness is beyond understanding.

God. Take me. Use me. Send me. Allow me the honor of serving you to my utmost.

Read Full Post »