Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 13th, 2011

As long as I can remember my family has loved quality time and long road trips. One trip that sticks out over the rest was a trip to Canada. We were headed there to get my brothers 1972 FJ-40 Landcruiser, which my father had bought on E-bay motors. My family of six had packed ourselves into our maroon 1997 Chevrolet Suburban, preparing ourselves for a very long journey.

Hours and hours later we reached the small cabin that we were staying in Blindriver, Ontario. The children were so excited to just get out and explore the beautiful area. One of the first things my oldest brother Christopher spotted was a canoe. With childish excitement Christopher sprinted down the hill and jumped into the canoe. Mom was inside putting up groceries while Rachael, my younger sister, was no where to be found. John-Kyle and dad were drooling over the “new” addition to the family(Landcruiser). I didn’t  really know what to do so I started just walking around and checking things out.

Christopher was giggling to himself with so much enjoyment over his “sea vessel”, and I wanted to join in all the fun. Lucky me, Christopher yelled, “CB come down here and fish with me!” Overjoyed I shot from the cabin door down a hill toward the dock where Christopher was paddling up. I felt somewhat like Pocahontas sprinting through the lightly forested area. However, I soon found myself lying flat on my back in a considerable amount of pain. When I could finally hear things again I heard uproarious laughter. I simply lay there and notice that my chin is wet, and after feeling it discovered a very sticky substance. Looking at my hand I conclude the mystery substance  was blood.

After ice and Tylenol I finally started feeling better. My family then informed me I had been running through the trees with such joy I had failed to notice a very thin clothes line strung between two small pines. Yes, I am the girl who has been clothes lined.. by an actual clothes line. Thank you Canada.

Photo Courtesy of Pigtown Design

Read Full Post »